9 UNESCO Persian Gardens at a Glance


The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) works with countries around the world to identify and protect cultural and natural places that merit recognition as part of the common heritage of humankind.Until now, 19 Iranian sites have been inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Iran’s Persian Garden is one of the sites inscribed on UNESCO’s List in 2011.The property includes nine gardens selected from as many various regions of IranThey exemplify the diversity of Persian garden designs that evolved and adapted to different climate conditions while retaining principles that have their roots in the times of Cyrus the Great, 6th century BC.Always divided into four sectors, with water playing an important role for both irrigation and ornamentation, the Persian garden was conceived to symbolize Eden and the four Zoroastrian elements of sky, earth, water and plants.These gardens, dating back to different periods since the 6th century BC, also feature buildings, pavilions and walls, as well as sophisticated irrigation systems. They have influenced the art of garden design as far as India and Spain.Here, you get familiar with nine Persian Gardens registered in the UNESCO so far:Ancient Garden of Pasargadae,Eram Garden, Shiraz,Chehel Sutun Garden, Isfahan,Fin Garden, Kashan,Abbas Abad Garden, Behshahr,Shazdeh Garden, Kerman,Dolat Abad Garden, Yazd,Pahlavan Pour Garden, Mehriz,Akbariyeh Garden, Birjand.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s